Best Ball

Modified Stableford Scoring

The Stableford system of scoring was introduced by Dr. Frank Stableford, of Liverpool, England, in 1932. The system uses points for scoring rounds or competitions. The player’s score at each hole is determined, gross or net, and points are awarded based on that score compared to a target score - usually par:

Modified Stableford Scoring
2 or more over par no points
1 over par (bogey) 1 point
par 2 points
1 under par (birdie) 4 points
2 under par (eagle) 6 points
3 under par 8 points

A player’s competition score is the sum of their Modified Stableford points awarded at each hole. Handicap allowances for Stableford scoring are typically full handicap, but may be adjusted for mixed competitions or play from different tees (which might have different pars).

The modified version of Stableford scoring is frequently used in Point-Quota competitions or competitions among skilled players, as it places a premium on the ability to make sub-par scores.

Full Handicap Stableford

Scorecard indicating Modified Stableford full handicap score

In this illustration, Tony D'Annunzio has earned 42 Stableford points for his net hole-by-hole scores. Note that scores better than par (3 points or more) are identified in red, equal to par (2 points) in blue, and other scores in black.

Competition Scores

Net Modified Stableford Scores

The comparison of Modified Stableford scores for the two players on the scorecard indicates Tony has a better net Stableford score with 42 points.